The Beginning- Part 1

I always believe that reading a book from the first page is really the best way to do great on a test. The introductory chapters always help you to understand the “psyche” of the subject that we are going to study better than any other important chapter in the book. It’s the same when dealing with people. It’s important to know who they are, where they come from, what’s their background story, etc to understand their perspective. So in short, all I am saying is I will tell you my story from the beginning. That is where it all began. lol. So you might be thinking that’s a lot of build up to just say one sentence. Yep, that’s me for you: “queen of writing essays”. 

Anyway I was born in Southern India into a Hindu high caste, well educated family. Our family is tight knit. My mom has three sisters, my dad has one sister, and I have one younger brother. My parents were doctors and I am their eldest child. Needless to say, as it happens to every baby born in our family, the day I was born my career options were narrowed down to doctor or engineer. I did well at school and all that but never thought I would be a doctor (social studies was my fave). As a kid when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grow up I remember choosing every career that exists except doctor.  I was artistic, and my mom said I can be an architect, (not deviating too far from the engineering,) but I should get into IIT or BITS Pilani, (India’s #1&2 engineering colleges). By the time I was in 10th grade, ready to decide between going the medical or engineering route, my dad had a one on one talk with me when my mom was at her clinic and planted the first seeds. He told me that medicine is one of the greatest professions in the world and the most satisfying. He told me he and my mom can guide me in the right direction. He also told me I will be a great surgeon; a dream he wanted for himself. I loved the idea of being a surgeon and saving people. This dream of being a surgeon one day is what keeps me going through  all the trials and tribulations. My mom had concerns because she wanted something easy for me since I am a girl and will be responsible for taking care of kids and a house in the future, but she came around and got on board. It’s not easy to get into medical school, and stress took a toll on me. I went from being the sweetest daughter to the rebellious one. I finally got into medical school and became a doctor, (in India,) but  I was still rebellious and always with  people that my parents did not approve of. As my bad luck would have it, all these people ended up hurting me.

-to be continued.

-R.

Leave a comment

Say something

